Skip to content

Functional Beer: Party Execution Edition

May 17, 2010
tags:

So, as in any good form of entertainment, I provide you with closure, giving you the recap of my “party,” which I have to say was quite the interesting night.  The important question at hand is what came to fruition in terms of beer and food acquisition for the party this weekend?

The beer list and how it relates to the picture above.

  • Blue Point Hoptical Illusion
  • Ommegang Three Philosophers
  • Minhas Brewery Simpler Times Lager
  • My homebrewed Amber Ale (Fat Tire Clone)
  • Sam Smith’s Oatmeal Stout
  • Ommegang Abbey Ale
  • Magic Hat Wacko Summer Seasonal

Apparently, this weekend was a logistical cluster$%ck for many.  Between weddings, graduations, forgetfulness, plain bad luck, and the somewhat short notice I had provided my friends, I had a whopping three people show up to my social event.  This of course was atypical, since some of those people are very dependable.  Oh well, maybe I should plan these things a little further in advance.

Regardless, the three (not including the girl and I) that did show up had a fantastic time.  People traveled from far away places like Yonkers and Manhattan.  We managed to make somewhat of a dent in the 70+ beers I had sitting in the fridge.  We listened to some good music (V V Brown, The National, Passion Pit, Ratatat, Crystal Castle), had some great conversation, and enjoyed some good eats (sliced up baguette, prosciutto, peppered salame, rhubarb and strawberry crisp,  brie and cheddar, potato chips, and sesame rice sticks).  The hard liquor and wine remained untouched.  And finally, we ended the night at The Castello Plan. It seems I may be obsessed with this bar.

I really couldn’t ask for better company and, of course, better beer.  And, the planning and beer purchasing was exciting for me.  So, thank you to my friends for a wonderful evening in Flatbush.  Ha.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

