Skip to content

A Weekend With Joe: Beer, Burst Blood Vessels, and Brooklyn

May 24, 2010
What a nice logo!

What does a typical weekend look like for Joe, the self-proclaimed author of the Functional Beer blog and co-developer of FunctionalBeer.com?  Well, let’s just say it involved Beer, the Brooklyn Half Marathon, burst blood vessels and a little more beer.  Think, beer infused lifestyle. Friday: What do you do the day before a half marathon?  You eat pasta and drink beer.  Yes, contrary to what most people perceive, I always enjoy a beer (or two, or sometimes even 7 (true story)) before a marathon.  See, limited alcohol consumption is fine – http://www.ehow.com/how_2164252_eat-before-marathon.html

So, my meal consisted of spaghetti with marinara and calamari and an Imperial Stout.

Saturday: 5:15 AM – I wake up to get ready for the race.  Walk to Prospect Park, arrive at 6:30 AM, and of course unsuccessfully try to find my girlfriend at the start in the roaring sea of people that were also trying to find people they knew.  At 7:00 AM the gun goes off, I give up and figure I could see her at the end.  1 hour and 48 minutes later, a cramped calf, burst blood vessels and about a half mile of walking, I manage to hobble across the line.  I’m thinking running a half marathon at race pace 2 weeks after finishing a 50k was not the best idea.

Saturday Afternoon and Evening: While lounging around waiting for dinner, I decide to drink a Blue Point Hoptical Illusion.  Dinner that evening was at Cafe Mogador, which entailed a Chimay Red and Spicy Fish Tagine.  Post dinner was spent at the Holiday Cocktail Lounge, where I continued to enjoy two pints of Stella Artois.

Lazy Sunday: No beer today, but much time was spent refreshing my memory of computer programming, so that I can bring you the ultimate beer experience.

Have a good Monday,
Love,
Joe

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 4:13 pm

    My cousin recommended this blog and she was totally right keep up the fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

