Skip to content

“I’m like that person who is into music and hates all bands” -Anonymous

September 28, 2010

The IPA Joe likes

I was reamed out by one of my best friends calling me out on the fact that I don’t love American IPAs.  I do love coffee because of it’s bitter qualities but there is something overwhelming about the American IPA.  And, English Style IPAs are game in by book since they happen to be less bitter.  But, I must say no to the American version, except for an exception or two.  My good friend, here is an American IPA I like. Blue Point Hoptical Illusion.  See why I like it.

It’s not because Blue Point is a brewery from the lovely Long Island where I happened to grow up.  In fact, I loathe the island of uppity suburbanite folk and it’s never-ending strip malls, in addition to the other negative things (ahem, people) I don’t like.  I like Hoptical Illusion because it’s bitterness is relatively low compared to all the other American IPAs out there.  Don’t believe me?  Read some of the geeky reviews on beeradvocate.com for which Hoptical Illusion has a stellar B+ grade from the craft beer community.  I like because it’s a grapefruit type bitterness and I kind of love grapefruits.

Luckily, this beer is pretty much readily available at most places in New York City.  I picked mine up from a bodega in Ditmas Park, which is quite a feat in itself as these places are pretty scarce on good beer.  So, for you non super bitter beer lovers, this could be your find.

Where did I drink this beer? In my apartment, but I found approximately here (it’s in the Bodega directly to the right of the Cortelyou Rd. B,Q station).

I would like this beer if:

  • Straight espresso pisses me off
  • There is no such thing as too many grapefruits
  • I love people from Long Island, like those people from Jersey Shore
  • I’m a girl and I want to try an American IPA
  • My Indian, Thai, or spicy food needs a friend

I would not like this beer if:

  • Bring on that bitter after taste
  • Everything Long Island sucks
  • Every time I eat a grapefruit it squirts me in the eye
One Comment leave one →
  1. October 6, 2010 11:46 pm

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

