Skip to content

A Beer that’s Asian, Just Like Me – Tsing Tao

September 30, 2010

Courtesy of Tsing Tao (www.tsingtaobeer.com)

If you’re like me, you probably don’t know a heck a lot about Asian beers.  Heck, I can’t even name more than the big ones like Sapporo, Chang, Tsing Tao and a few other craft beers.  But, if you’re like me and happen to frequent Chinese restaurants, or heck any Asian restaurant in the great city of New York that serve mystery food for mysteriously low prices, you have probably been intrigued by Tsing Tao since it’s available almost everywhere.  Read about this insanely popular beer.

My most memorable experience with this beer started at an Chinese-Filipino wedding where I happened to turn 21 the day before.  While, I had seen this beer (and possibly drank it) when I was 20 years old, I managed to get excited about legally being able to drink.  Many Tsing Taos later and I was the version of Joe you don’t want to meet.

The wonderful thing about this beer is it’s available at most Asian establishment.  I just drank one today at Congee Bowery a Chinese Restaurant and Bar boasting an almost infinite selection of food.  Seriously, we sat there for 30 minutes trying to figure out what to eat.  Luckily the beer selection was quite obvious as my choices consisted of Bud, Corona, and other popular choices.  Tsing Tao Brewery brews this one.  The flavor is unique and in the first word that comes to mind is skunky.  Luckily it’s always a great complement to cheap Asian food and a lovely alternative to American Lagers since it’s the least bit overwhleming. So what’s the skinny?

Where did I drink this beer? Congee Bowery with salt and pepper scallops, a noodle dish, dumplings, pan fried minced pork with salted fish, and chicken

I would like this beer if:

  • When driving on the interstate I enjoy that skunky smell that permeates my car when I pass a roadkill skunk
  • Lighter beers make me happy
  • The only way I can afford to live in the city is to eat Chinese food
  • My boyfriend/girlfriend is Asian

I would not like this beer if:

  • Asia is bad and full of dictators
  • Who the hell likes skunk?
  • I hate Chinese food
  • Skunk, really?
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

