Skip to content

Beer is a Pretty Thing – Pretty Things Jack D’or

October 21, 2010

Pretty

Every now and then trends come along.  In the food world we’ve had the overdone fried chicken, Vietnamese sandwiches and locally sourced organic foods.  One trend that’s surfaced recently in my beer world is Pretty Things Beer and Ale Project, a small beer brewery out of Massachusetts.  It’s pretty much run by an awesome out there husband and wife and I have to say they brew some pretty tasty drink.  So what have I had recently?  Read on.

Jack D’or is the breweries saison.  French for “season” it’s basically a low alcohol pale ale that can pretty much be described as a reddish-amber earthy, spicy and fruity beer and was primarily used to refresh farm workers during harvest season.  I bought a bottle the other day from Whole Foods Union Square for some after work refreshment and I wasn’t farming but figured I deserved a damn good beer after a long day saving hospitals.  I drank it with my open-faced pancetta sandwich filled with garlic, fresh basil and olive oil.  Go ahead, mock me.

So what’s the deal with this beer?

Where did I get this beer? Whole Foods Union Square

I would like this beer if:

  • I just harvested some corn and need a drink
  • Sausage is all I think about
  • Fruity and spicy are what I look for in men/women

I would not like this beer if:

  • Belgian beers are too complex and I can’t stand too many flavors and aromas
  • Pretty Things Beer and Ale Project freaks me out
  • Cheap beer all the way
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

