Skip to content

Pissed Off That You Waited In A Long Line For A Burger – Drink This, Brooklyn Shackmeister Ale

November 22, 2010

Shackmeister Ale

On an unrelated outing, the girl and I went to Char No. 4 for chili season, basically some mighty damn fine chili served with jalapeño corn bread, a craft beer (Lake Placid Ubu Ale in this instance) and a shot of bourbon.  Let’s just say it was lip smacking and heart warming good.  Low and behold, who sits next to us but Danny Meyer.  That reminded me that on my shortlist of beers to try was the Brooklyn Shackmeister ale, an American Pale Ale that’s meant to be consumed with their delicious burgers.  How did my after work impulsive visit go?  Read on, my friends.

We all know Shake Shack burgers are delicious.  This is proven by their ubiquitous nature around New York City.  If you haven’t gone, it’s time you do.  But, what some people may miss is the fact that they have a beer specifically engineered to go with their burger by the giant of New York City brewing, Brooklyn Brewery.

It’s called Shackmeister Ale and it’s an American Pale Ale brewed by the infamous Brooklyn Brewery. Think decently bitter, malty, and crisp thirst quenching beer with a slightly citrus like aroma.  It’s also pretty light in the mouth which let’s the beer complement, not overtake the delicious patty of greasy beef you are about to ingest.

So, after work and a quick run around Central Park, I decided to imbibe in the delicious pairing.  Brooklyn Brewery, you rock.  Danny Meyer, you rock.  The beer was crisp and bitter enough to wash down the delicious burger flavors preparing my mouth for every next bite.  Sigh.

Where did I drink this beer? Shake Shack Upper East Side (I work around there)

I would like this beer if:

  • I need to forget about the long line I just stood in for a burger
  • I’m thirsty
  • Bitter is better

I would not like this beer if:

  • I ordered the ‘Shroom burger
  • Bitter beers make my mouth hurt
  • I don’t want to stand in line for a delicious burger and beer

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2010 9:37 am

    Hey Joe,

    Thanks for visiting our Upper East Side Shake Shack and sharing your experience with your readers. Glad to hear you enjoyed the ShackMeister Ale. We appreciate you writing about it on your blog, and hope to welcome you back again soon. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    Cheers,

    The Shake Shack Team

  2. November 23, 2010 10:02 pm

    Hey Shake Shack Team,

    No thanks are necessary. You’re food and drink are delicious. I’m glad there’s one close to my office.

    Joe

Leave a Reply

