Skip to content

Everything Is Sexy About You, Juliet

January 20, 2011

Elegant

I like things with multiple functions.  Screwdrivers with multiple heads.  Universal remote controls.  Restaurants that you can drink and eat at.  When I stumbled upon at Goose Island Juliet at the Whole Foods Bowery Beer Room, I couldn’t help but grab a bottle.  Actually, I drooled over it and my girlfriend bought it for me.  The amusing part is that I had no objective reason to want this beer other than its extreme similarity to a wine bottle.  It just looked good and I figured that in addition to being a good beer, it could serve as a lovely gift to bring to a fancy schmancy party.  How did my impulse beer purchase work out?  Read on.

Goose Island Juliet is a Belgian Style Sour ale brewed by the wonderful folks at Goose Island, a craft beer brewery based in Chicago.  A sour ale, is… sour.  Technically, it’s brewed with wild yeast, meaning that the yeast most likely comes from the random crap floating around in the air.  Yup.  That’s right.

In addition to that, it’s aged in wine barrels and the beer itself seemed to pick up a nice red hue as well as some wine flavors.  And, of course it was sour.  Everything about this beer was elegant from packaging to the look and taste of this (think sour beer, like spoiled milk) and I can’t help but keeping it in the back of my mind if I ever want to impress some upper crust folk.

Where did I get this beer?  Whole Foods Bowery, 95 East Houston Street, New York, NY

I would like this beer if:

  • Sour Patch Kids and spoiled milk are wonderful
  • I’m going to visit the in-laws and I want to present an elegant bottle

I would not like this beer if:

  • Spoiled milk, really… spoiled milk
3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 5:08 pm

    True Story: Just a few months ago, my and a buddy shared one of the worst bottles of beer I’ve ever had in my life: Goose Island’s Sofie. It was so sour and undrinkable we looked it up – turned out it was recalled. Goose Island of the not-recalled variety: still my fav.

Leave a Reply

