Skip to content

I Love Amber Ales, So Why The Heck Have I Not Drank This – Bear Republic Red Rocket Ale

February 8, 2011

Bear Republic Red Rocket Ale

Have you ever avoided doing something, changed your mind, tried it, then realized you’ve been missing something your whole life?  I recall eating brussel sprouts, owning cats, and blowing my nose.  Yes, blowing my nose.  Regardless, I decided to pick up the Red Rocket Ale that I’ve consistently overlooked at the local Key Food in Astoria, my new hood.  To my surprise, I’ve now discovered a new “go-to.”

I like Amber Ales, but winter seems to make me want darker beers.  Winter equals imperial stouts and porters and Belgian darks since they do a fantastic job of warming my esophagus.  But, to my freaking surprise, Bear Republic’s Red Rocket Ale is a strong bastardized version of an American Amber.

Bear Republic, a craft brewery in Cali, calls it a, “bastardized Scottish style red ale…”

And, that’s what it is.  Think a fruity and citrus like smell.  A slightly bitter palate with a nice after taste of alcohol and caramel.  It’s strong enough to warm you up and sweet enough to remind of your momma’s cookies.

Grab one and drink up.

Where did I get this beer? Key Food – 3221 Newtown Avenue, Astoria, NY 11102

I would like this beer if:

  • I like amber ales, but not in the Winter
  • I had a long day and need a strong pick me up
  • I’m going going back back to Cali Cali

I would not like this beer if:

  • I don’t like the taste of alcohol
  • Sweet beers are weird
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

