Skip to content

Spring Is Gorges, So Drink Ithaca Beer Company’s Ground Break

March 15, 2011

 

Ithaca is Gorges

Spring is almost here.  For me that pretty much means not freezing during morning runs, not having to squeeze into my coat while wearing a suit jacket, and transitioning the beers I drink on a regular basis.  This means gravitating towards a spring/summer style beer like a saison.  Read on about my newest discovery, Ithaca Beer Company’s Ground Break.

A saison, French for “season,” is a Belgian style beer that was typically brewed in the winter months so that it would serve as a refreshing drink in the summer.  It’s usually a golden to amber colored beer that smells and tastes fruity (think citrus), spicy and slightly malty.  There may be some of that good old alcohol taste/smell as well.

Ground Break is an American-Style saison from Ithaca Beer Company.  First, Ithaca Beer Company is a brewery that hails out of Ithaca, land of gorges and Cornell.  Next, Ground Break is a hoppier version of a saison.  It’s a cloudy yellow (yes, like pee) beer that smells sweet and fruity and tastes like citrus, malt and grass with a very bitter aftertaste.  Basically, it’s pretty darn good.

It’s a perfect beer for those that like something that’s not so much an IPA or Belgian in the spring/summer months.  Enjoy.  I know I will.

Where did I get this beer? Key Food – 3221 Newtown Avenue, Astoria, NY 11102

I would like this beer if:

  • I’m sick of porters and stouts
  • I like IPAs and Belgians, but not all the time… I need a go to beer
  • I love the earth, fruit, yeast and all

I would not like this beer if:

  • Bitter things and bitter people piss me off
  • Belgian… yuck.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

