Skip to content

It’s July 7th, 2011 And This Is What I’m Drinking

July 7, 2011

July 7th, 2011 - This is what I'm drinking

It’s July 7th, 2011.  The high today was 88 degrees and Good Morning America coined the day, “hot and humid.”

I went to work, clicked on my mouse, tapped on my keyboard and then ran some errands Downtown, namely bought fabric with the girl for throw pillows in our newly decorated apartment.

So, when I got home and decided to cook some dinner and drink some beer, what were my choices?  Just take a look at the pic above and read on.

Beer number one is a Maibock brewed by the ever famous Hofbrau.  Yes, the Hofbrau that is all things Munich (or Munchen) and Germany.  Beer number two is a California Common, by Flying Dog, the brewer of one of my most favorite beers, Raging Bitch.  Both are lagers and both have quite the malt flavors.  Think, toasty.  Both are crisp and  interestingly, both have pronounced bitterness.  The ingredients are the real distinctions.  I really didn’t mean for it to be like this, I swear.  But, it just happened that this is what I had in the refrigerator.

On the plate was some gluten free pizza and because of this, I drink a lager (or sometimes a Pilsner) with the grub.

By now, you should know that I don’t rate beers, but I do recommend these for a nice, random, and hot summer day.

Oh, and if I haven’t written about this, you must visit this Pioneer (Yelp link with all the praise for beer).  No joke, it’s a Mecca as far as grocery stores, better than your typical Whole Foods.  Oh, and they don’t mark up singles, so variety is the name of the game.

I got this beer from Pioneer – 289 Columbus Avenue, New York, NY

I would like these beers if:

  • I want a flavorful lager
  • I’m eating pizza
  • It’s summer
I would not like these beers if:
  • I want my lager extremely clean
  • I should probably just drink an ale
No comments yet

Leave a comment