Skip to content

Some Thoughts – Egg and Cheese and Beer…?

September 1, 2011

Thinking back to a few minutes ago, wishing I could time warp back to the moment where I was about to bite into my egg and cheese, I probably should have taken a picture of it so that you’d have something to look at and activate your salivary glands.  But, it’s most likely moseying down my esophagus right now, so no pictures.

Egg and cheese.  New Yorkers order these often, even so much as on a regular basis as a part of their daily commute to work.  Trust me, I’ve seen it.  Heck, I just ordered one.  There just isn’t something more exciting than two proteins in between a slightly greasy roll.

So, the brain started smoking and I got myself thinking what would be good, other than street coffee.  Here are my simple 2 suggestions for beer styles to match a great breakfast staple.

Wheat Beer – there are plenty of beers made with wheat, but may I suggest my favorite style, the witbier.  Think of a somewhat light bodied beer with an often citrusy and tart taste, often hinted with some underlying wheat flavor and possibly sweetness.  My two favorites, which I don’t drink often enough are Ommegang Witte and Unibroue Blanch de Chambly

Coffee Stout – you could say this is a pretty easy match, and you are absolutely right.  It is.  The dark and intense coffe/chocolate like flavors of a coffee stout and the nice medium to heavier body would go as well as a cup of Joe with your sandwich.  My two favorites are the Longtrail Coffee Stout and a Southern Tier Mokah, both of which are a little hard to find.  So, sorry.

And, remember, you don’t have to take my word for it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

