Skip to content

A Little Preview of a Belgian/American Imperial IPA

February 8, 2012

image

I made a trip to my old neighborhood to enter Brooklyn Wort, a Brooklyn based homebrewing competition.

Neat thing is that if you do get in, you brew 5 gallons of beer, bring it to Sycamore a great bar in Ditmas Park, and you get to mingle with the brewers, judges, and people while everyone samples your beer.

For the preliminary qualifying round, I entered an Imperial IPA brewed with Citra hops and a blend of American Ale and Belgian yeast. I opened one up prematurely, and got that lovely beer above. It reeked, in a good way, of hops and had a slight spicy phenolic smell to it. A good thing I guess.

I actually didn’t drink the beer above. I know a waste but was pleasantly happy and hopefully be admitted into the contest.

Oh, and it was an all-grain brew.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

