Skip to content

The Beer Version of Corkbuzz – A Step by Step Guide to Developing Your Own Beer Bar, Part 1

March 5, 2012

This series of posts looks at how you can start your very own beer bar and food joint.  We cover everything from who we need as our Chef, (cough) Alex Stupak, to what beers we would want and what our vision should be.  Get ready for the most detail you’ve ever seen.  Maybe there will even by some Power Point and Excel!  Enjoy.

Attention all potential angel investors.  You have two options at this junction.  Option 1, you can read this step-by-step plan, rip me off and develop your own version of Corkbuzz for beer.  Chances are, nothing I’ve said could incite a a-ha moment and by no means can I patent such generic and ubiquitous ideas such as opening a half educational and half functional beer bar.  Option two, feel free to leave a comment and I’ll contact you and you can pay me, an industrial engineer working as a internal consultant in a medical center, to develop this for you.  The ball is in your court. 

Why am I putting these great ideas on the internet?  Because, I do feel my career in healthcare may be more successful and fruitful, but if you could convince my otherwise, drop me a line.

Before we start off the series, let me give you a little background about what Corkbuzz is.  While there are other iterations of Corkbuzz, it just happens to be the place I visited this weekend before my Saturday night spiraled into eating cheap Mexican in Union Square and heading out to Bowlmor.  Don’t ask.

Synopsizing Corkbuzz is easy.  It’s a business where the food and wine is tightly integrated with education and experiential learning, all with the main objective of elevating wine to the masses of New York City.  I emphasize New York City, because this place is quintessentially Manhattan.   By subjective definition, it’s a great comfortable place with a realistic far-reaching vision.

I have my own thoughts, concerns and observations about the elevation of beer to the status and reverence handed to wine by fine dining advocates.  My observation is that the beer industry keeps it where it is on purpose.  We don’t want to be wine, but we want the credibility of wine.  That’s fine with me as all I know is I really enjoy beer, wine and food.  As long as I can find a good beer within a subway ride from my apartment, I’m content.

But, for the industry to be successful and for beer to permeate every crack of the restaurant industry,  I suppose a little education wouldn’t hurt.  Sometimes I do feel beer is already there, though being someone with a heavy analytical background in mathematics and engineering, I’ve never done the study.

So here we go.

First we need a name of our bar, mission statement and catchy slogan.  Let’s call our place Functional Beer, for lack of a better name.  Next our mission statement should read, “Functional Beer’s goal is to provide an experience that tightly integrates traditional beer history and beer function into the dining/drinking experience.”

Our slogan can be, “Every beer has a function.”

Simple.  As you can see I’m not elevating beer to the class that wine has.  Funcitonal Beer sounds quirky, because it is quirky.  Until breweries stop naming their beers Santa’s Butt, I think the name should do.

Next week’s write-up will be our strategic goals and an analysis of why this concept would work, i.e. current state/future state and all that jazz.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

