Skip to content

Mitral Valve Repair – A Little Hiatus

January 29, 2013
20130129-221613.jpg

Jenga is good for the heart

My out of office reply…

Good afternoon/morning,

Unfortunately, I am away from the office on medical leave. I will be out for at least another two weeks.

For those that are curious if everything is OK. It is. It’s actually approximately 3 weeks post surgery and I am recovering nicely at home. The surgery had nothing to do with the beer i so frequently drink and will not affect the amount of beer I need to drink to keep this site updated in the future. My surgery went perfect and I am doing well.

For those that are curious, I got mitral valve repair. My valve was essentially defective and was a result of a genetic defect that I was born with. There was nothing I could do except get the surgery and get better. You can look it up or send me questions if you’re interested. It is a medical miracle.

In terms of the last couple of weeks, I have slowly been incorporating beer drinking back into my daily repertoire, even as soon as a day after I got home from the hospital on January 11th. I used to only be able to drink 1 to 2 beers a day but for those of you that find that unacceptable, I was able to have 6 beers over a 4 hour period just this past Sunday. And, in fact tonight I met some of my best friends at the Amsterdam Ale House and Dive 75 for some Jenga and beer.

My first beer post surgery was a memorable one. All I could stomach with me defunct taste buds and lack of appetite was a Budwesier. And, it was great.

After that it went downhill and the next day I made my wife buy me Brookyln Local 1, Brooklyn Local 2, Spaten Lager, Sierra Nevada, and Unibroue La Fin Du Monde. Ingested, of course, over a couple of days. When I ran out I luckily had a couple dizen bottles of homebrew to drink while playing Settlers of Catan. No, I don’t normally play that but it was brought over by a loving friend.

Yup. Open heart surgery patients go out. I’ve visited a couple of restaurants and bars and I’ve had everything from pale ales, Duvel, Chimay Red, Lagunitas IPA to all things Sixpoint. Even as recent as tonight I enjoyed a Brasserie DuPont Avec Les Bons Voeux an Anderson Valley Hop Ottin IPA.

In terms of what I’d love to share, I made it to Jean Georges where I found their beer pouring techniques to be hilariously wonderful. I also visited a couple bars close by in the Time Warner Center that deserve some colorful commentary. I will elaborate in time.

Sadly, the taste buds are still not 100 percent and I can’t wait until the ticker is back to normal. Beer still just doesn’t taste as wonderful as it should.

Only a couple more months. So in the meantime, posts will be less frequent but I will try as hard as I can to stay in the beer world while I recover.

Miss you all.

Love,
Joe

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 17, 2013 11:30 pm

    Joe, just stumbled across your blog as I was searching on mitral valve repair and beer. I blog over at http://beer.kozlen.com and find myself in a similar situation. Would love to touch base with you and find out about your experience.

Leave a Reply

